Let the Countdown (And Shopping) Begin….

Only 43 days (if you are reading his blog on Friday, November 11th, that is!) until Christmas.  It will be here before you know it.

I am getting things ready for my weekend of Christmas movies!  Getting fabric handy, checking for glue sticks, making a list of errands I need to do tomorrow and figuring out the best time to do them so I am home to watch the best movies tomorrow!  Dang!  I’m going to have to get up at 2am so I won’t miss anything good!  Just kidding…I know which movies will be playing again, plus I own the DVD of  The Christmas Card, so if I miss it, I can always watch it later on.

I tried to get a list together today of some things you are going to need to have on hand for some of the crafts we’ll be doing in the next few weeks.  It isn’t an all-inclusive list because, quite frankly, I haven’t totally decided on what crafts I want to do for sure.  Some of these things you will probably have around your house, and some you may need to buy.  A lot of these things you can find at your version of the Dollar Store.  You do not need to go out and purchase all of these items now!  I will give you a few days heads up for each craft and what you will need to make it.  If you have an idea of what we’ll be using, you can start looking around your house, or buying some of these items when you see them on sale.

Craft Supply List

Scissors
Glue Gun (I always get low temp glue guns–less chance of burning your fingers off!)
Glue Sticks
Christmas Fabrics (You won’t need huge amounts.  Most craft stores have what are called “Fat Quarters”.  These are just cuts of fabric for quilters, so if you can find these in Christmas fabric, they will be perfect!)
Felt in various colors
Buttons (Colorful and fun buttons; shapes such as Christmas trees, stars, etc….
Twine or Yarn
Clear Glass Ornaments (These are always on sale for 50% off at Michaels, Hobby Lobby, etc…)
Acrylic Paint (On sale right now  2/$1 at Michaels until tomorrow (11/12); normally they are only $.59.  Get mostly Christmas colors and we might need a flesh colored paint)
Spray Paint (white; this is also on sale at Michaels and Hobby Lobby until tomorrow (11/12))
Spray Glitter paint (in whatever color glitter you want–these will mostly be used for snow-like projects, so think “snow”)
Ribbon (Can be found at Michaels, 4/$1 until tomorrow (11/12) $1 Store; think Christmas colors, or whatever color you decorate for Christmas in.)
Paper Plates (Cheap paper plates; not plastic)
Yarn (think Christmas colors or colors you decorate in)
Toilet Paper/Paper Towel rolls (Empty, please!)
Glitter
Ornament Hooks
Styrofoam balls (for tree ornaments)
Straight pins with red colored heads and white pearl heads
Wooden thread spools, empty (You can find these in bags of different sizes at Hobby Lobby/Michaels/Joanns)
Pipe cleaners (White or Christmas colors)
Craft Sticks
26-28 Gauge wire
Wire cutters
Borax (Can be found in the laundry detergent aisle)
Clear Glass Vases (Can be them at the $1 Store)
Rubber bands
Holiday Scrapbook Paper (6/$1 through 11/12)
Green Paint chips you can get from any paint (or Wal-Mart or Home Depot).  Get the strips that have varying colors of green on a strip.  Don’t worry about them having the number and color typed on them.  Also get some with brown colors on them.

I know some of you Michelle are chomping at the bit to get started crafting , so we will get started soon…I promise! Have fun watching Christmas movies tomorrow (and don’t forget to answer the question of the day!)!!

Question of the Day

What is your all-time favorite Christmas craft?

3 comments on “Let the Countdown (And Shopping) Begin….

  1. Not that I would do this again, but when I was a kid we would make a hard candy wreath by wiring the candy tightly around a wreath form. It turned out beautifully and was so fun with all us kids laughing and eating the candy. 🙂

  2. I have done so many crafts over the years, it’s hard for me to choose! I would have to go with these little angels I made a few years ago. They had little stuffed bodies, country dresses, wooden ball heads and yarn hair. I still have some I hang on the tree. Even though it’s not technically a “craft” per se, I found these pretty little ornament frames at Hobby Lobby and I typed out Scriptures about Jesus’ birth and put them in the frames to hang on the tree. It helps me to be mindful of the real reason for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

