We Interrupt This Christmas to Bring You…THANKSGIVING!!

Happy Thanksgiving!! 

(Or as my former mother-in-law used to say, “Happy Gobble, Gobble Day!”)  I LOVE Thanksgiving!  To me, it is like the door that opens into Christmas!  From about now until January 2nd, life seems to be one big flurry of excitement….turkeys to defrost (Yes, I defrost mine in a sink full of water all day long and all night long.  I do it; my mom has always done it and my grandma did it…we are still alive and no one has ever gotten sick on Thanksgiving day except from overeating, so I guess it’s OK to do it that way!), meals to plan, goodies to prepare, presents to purchase, crowds to shove your way through, decorating the house…oh, my, I get exhausted just thinking about it! 

Tomorrow as you sit down to eat your Thanksgiving meal, take a few moments to think about what you are most thankful for.  Here in America, we have so much to be thankful for.  Most of us have homes, a hot meal every night, clothes on our backs, a warm bed to sleep in every night…let’s be thankful!  It’s easy to look at all things we don’t have or wish we had.  It’s easy to slip into that “I want” mentality, but just for a moment, think about all things that you DO have and be thankful. 

This has been a particularly hard year for my daughters and I.  We have had so many things happen to us that we could complain about (and I admit, there have been times we’ve complained!), but we have also seen God do so many wonderful things in our lives!  I don’t want to be a complainer; I want to be thankful for everything I’ve been blessed with.  Do I have extra money to take a nice long vacation like our neighbors do?  No.  Do we eat filet mignon every night for dinner?  No.  Do we have the latest and greatest computer/software/video stuff?  No.  Do I drive a brand new car?  No.  But what I DO have are:  3 beautiful, healthy, Godly daughters; friends that have loved us and blessed us; a beautiful, heated home with warm beds; food in our bellies every night; a decent car that gets me where I need to be, a job that I love and most importantly, a God that loves me no matter what!  For that alone I should be thankful….I am thankful….are you?

Movies to Watch
Tonight, on the Hallmark Channel is showing The Gift of the Magi at 4pm MST/6pmEST.  I have not seen this movie yet, but I adore this story!!  I’m a little sad that it starts so early…I doubt I’ll be home from work in time to watch it, but hopefully it will be on again!  Following that is November Christmas, which is a classic Hallmark movie (have tissues nearby!).  There will also be some Thanksgiving movies on all day Thanksgiving day (starting at 4am MST/6am EST).

Over on the Lifetime Channel, starting at 6pm MST/8pm EST is a cute little movie called 12 Men of Christmas.  This movie features Kristen Chenoweth, whom I think is cute as a button and so talented!  It will also be airing again at 10pm MST)  Following that will be Christmas in Paradise, which is about 2 single-parent families that meet while on vacation.   On Thanksgiving day, Lifetime will be showing back-to-back Christmas movies all day starting at 7am MST.

I’m not tuning in too much over at ABC Family Channel.  I don’t think they deliver on excellent Christmas movie fare….too many showings of Harry Potter (what does HP have to do with Christmas?!) and Pixar movies (The Incredibles) for me.  If you’re going to call it the 25 Days of Christmas, you should probably be filling the schedule with Christmas movies!  They own the rights to one  of my all-time favorite Christmas movies, Three Days, but they always show it at obscure times…this year, it will be on at 7am MST on a Friday!  So, I won’t be able to watch it because I have to go to work!  It’s a little upsetting…lol…

Have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving Day!!

 

Question of the Day

What are you thankful for today?

2 comments on “We Interrupt This Christmas to Bring You…THANKSGIVING!!

Leave a Reply

