On the Second Day of Christmas….

My true love gave to me…2 turtle doves?!?!?!   Now what in the world am I going to do with two turtle doves?!?  Have you ever really listened to the array of gifts in that song?  The only one I’d really be appreciating are the 5 golden rings…provided there was a huge diamond on the top of at least one of them! Lol…

Did you go out today and purchase a new Christmas album?  I hope you did!  I love getting new Christmas music.

Tomorrow’s assignment is to pick out a book to read for Christmas.  I know I mentioned Two from Galilee in a previous post, and I still highly recommend finding this book and reading it!  I dug out my copy last week and started to read it.  I have always loved the story of Mary and Joseph from the Bible, but this book makes the story come alive!

Another great book (that I mentioned before as well) is The Paperbag Christmas.  I purchased this book on a whim (I collect Christmas books) and ended up loving it!  I loved it so much I made my kids read it and they loved it too.  I must say that you do need to have a box of Kleenex handy because you will definitely need it at the end of the book!  It’s a great story about love and giving of yourself.  It’s a great lesson for the kiddos…and mom and dad as well!

How many of you have seen the movie, or read the book, The Christmas Shoes?  This is a beautiful story about the gift of kindness.  Sometimes we have no idea how our actions will affect someone else.   The Christmas Blessing is the sequel to The Christmas Shoes.  If you read the first, you have to read the second!

There are so many wonderful Christmas books out there, so your assignment today is to go to your local bookstore and peruse the Christmas book aisle.  Also pick up a few good storybooks for your children!

Craft

We will be making some snowballs this weekend so if you are out and about, pick up some Epsom Salts, a bunch of styrofoam balls (any size), glue, white or blue acrylic paint and a pillar candle or two (if you like).  No need for freezing temperatures to make these snowballs!!  I LOVE this craft and plan to make a bunch for my mantle!

2 comments on “On the Second Day of Christmas….

  1. “The Christmas Box” (sniff, sniff) is another great Christmas Book! Have tissues ready but it’s a great story!! 🙂

  2. Melissa, I love that movie too! There are just too many great movies! Have you seen “The Christmas Wish” with Debbie Reynolds? Another tear jerker! Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

