Auld Lang Syne

It’s the last day of 2011….I find it so hard to believe that this year is already over!  It seems like it was just yesterday that we were ushering in 2011 and all it would hold for us.

For me, New Year’s Eve is my least favorite holiday.  It makes me sad to think another year of my life is gone, never to be seen or lived again.  My birthday is also in January so it really is a whole other year gone for me.

I like to take this day to think about the “days gone by”.  I wish that years ago I had written down all the things that had happened during every year.  It would have been nice to be able to look back over the years of my life now that the memory is beginning to get a little sluggish.  This year, I plan on starting that tradition.  I may be 47 years into this life, but who knows?  Maybe I will have another 47 years to record!

The Bible tells us to remember the things the Lord has done for us, and to write them upon our hearts.  I know for me, it helps me to recall all the times the Lord has worked mightily on our behalf…especially during those times when it seems He is no where to be found.   During those times when funds are low and a large bill is looming, it helps to remember all the other times God came through and supplied our needs…I mean, if God has always taken care of us, why would He let us down now?!

I believe that God wants us to remember all those times because it builds our faith.  When you are always recalling times when your faith got you through a situation, it helps reinforce the faith you have.  It helps to build your faith and make it stronger each time you are going through a hard time.  I love to hear people tell me their stories of when God blessed them with something, or when God came through for them.  That also helps build my faith.

As this first week of 2012 begins, I encourage you to think about this past year and write down the many things you have done, the accomplishments of your children, and the ways God has been there for you.  Then, I encourage you to start keeping a record of everything throughout the year. (Then it’s not so hard to try to sit down at the end of the year to remember!)

I do not know what 2012 holds for me.  I do have some ideas and some of it is pretty scary for me, but I also know who holds my future in the palm of His hand, and I know, because of the past, that there is nothing I am going to go through that God will not be there to hold my hand, or better yet, carry me through.

As you know, I love Christmas and one of my favorite Christmas songs is called “After December Slips Away”.  It’s a good reminder to hold on to the love, peace and joy of Christmas-time even after December slips away….

The season comes but once a year
A gift of precious wonder
For all who hold it dear
But past the sights and coloured lights
Lord, far beyond December I will remember
After the carols fade away
After the Yule fire dies down
When there are no longer dreams to open and see
Because You are hope and joy and peace
Because You’re the only gift I need
In my heart the season will remain
After December slips away
Years ago beneath a tree
Fell the drops of crimson
That set the faithful free
The gift was life sent in love
Lord, far beyond December I will remember
  No matter how bright the glitter shines
No matter how many hopes come true
I know that all I have
Begins and ends with You
After the carols fade away
After the Yule fire dies down
When there are no longer dreams to open and see
Because You are hope and joy and peace
Because You’re the only gift I need
In my heart the season will remain
After December slips away In my heart the season will remain
After December slips away

Have a safe and blessed New Year!


Leave a Reply

