The Very Violet Bedroom!

First week of the new year–DONE!  I cannot tell you how hard it was to go back to work after taking 14 days off!!  It was insane!  I woke up Wednesday morning, laid in bed for a few moments, told God that I really love my job and I appreciate having it, but I just want to stay home!!  Lol… Of course, when I got back to work, I could barely find my desk due to the amount of work left in my absence.  Alas, I got through it all, and even got to go home early yesterday due to a water break at our building!  We don’t close for snow, but we do for water!!  Lol…

Well, I got most of Natalie’s room redecorated.  It looks so….so….so…GROWN UP!!  It was a little bittersweet to paint over the Bibbidy-Bobbidy Blue stripe I had so painstakingly taped and painted 8 years ago.  It was a little sad to remove the Barbie dollhouse that Nat’s dad, grandfather and I all built for Ashley when she was about 4.  I cried just a little as I applied Very Violet to the walls, while listening to Barry Manilow sing about a Weekend in New England.  I sneezed a bit as I removed the white Priscilla curtains from the windows (mostly because of the dust content from them!).  It was a sad day, but Nat and I had a lot of fun, so I will look at it fondly as time spent with her.

I tried to find the pictures I took of Nat’s room when I first got it done in the Princess theme, but with 7 hard drives, and well over 15,000 gigs of images, it was a daunting task and I finally gave up!  So I just took a picture of her room before we started painting.  The dolls had already been removed from the shelves, the comforter was changed and the princesses were removed from the walls, but the rest is pretty much the same.

A before shot of Natalie's room..please excuse all the mess!

I didn’t get to her room to get a picture until she had already taken everything off the dresser and thrown it on her bed, hence the big mess on her bed!

The princess and prince pictures on the wall.  I love these pictures and wouldn’t mind hanging them on my own wall!  Maybe one day, one of my girls will have a daughter that will love the Disney princesses and want them for their room!

This is the wall where I painted “windows” on the wall.  There was a different princess decal in each window…it looked like they were sitting at the window looking out for their prince.  It was really cute, but Nat got rid of these a year or so ago!

The Very Violet walls!!  The name was certainly indicative of the color!!  It’s actually a little lighter than this…

Half of the room done!

This is the window treatment Nat decided on.  I found some crinkly white panel sheers at Wal-mart for $15 and I made the purple ruffly valance for about $7.  These pictures don’t do them justice–they are really cute!

And the room done!  I still need to paint a desk we have downstairs and add it, but that might not happen for a few more weeks!  Nat also wants me to paint a tree with branches and fabric flowers attached to it on the left side wall, but we are waiting until we get the desk so we know where we want to put the tree!  Natalie made the lime green and yellow pillows (I will put a tutorial on here later this week to show you how easy these were!) and I made the big pink pillow (will also be included in tutorial).  These were the little pops of color she wanted and she chose the colors.  I also painted the little dresser–I used the wall color on the top of it and the knobs, and painted over the crowns I had stenciled on before.

All total, I spent under $60 to give this teenager a new bedroom look.  If you are looking for a quick, inexpensive change for a room, the best thing you can do is change the wall color.  It doesn’t need to be as drastic as this Very Violet, but any change will freshen it up and give it a new look!!

One comment on “The Very Violet Bedroom!

Leave a Reply

