She’s Growing Up….

My middle baby graduated from high school in May!  Where has the time gone?!?!  Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was celebrating her birth?  Wasn’t I just on 5 weeks bed rest, just trying to get her here safely?!?  Didn’t she just start school..like….yesterday?!  Now she’s a high school graduate, ready to go to college and start her life as an adult.  I hate it.

Emily was my middle child.  With an older sister that is a drama queen/princess(and I mean that in a loving way), and a younger sister that is precocious and funny, Emily didn’t have much of a chance to “shine”, but shine she has.  You see, in the midst of Ashley’s drama, and Natalie’s one-liners, Emily was the even keel.  She has always been even-tempered, strong in spirit and quiet.  She could always make us smile or laugh, even when the storm was raging in our home.  Most of the time, she’s the one reminding me that God is in control, and that God has my back.

As a little girl, she would play Sunday School/church.  She would line all her dolls up, preach to them and then pray for them.  She’s always told us she wants to be a missionary when she grows up.  She’s always desired to go to a Spanish-speaking country to lead them to God.  Her high school Spanish teachers have always told me that she had a real aptitude towards the Spanish language—coincidence?!  I think not.  I think God put it in her heart a long time ago, and one day (sadly to this mommy that will miss her), I think you will find my Emily, preaching to the lost in Costa Rica (the country of my choice for her…lol) or Mexico or Chile.  I can see her sweet, gentle spirit, ministering to lost people and showing them the love of God.

Emily will start college here in a few weeks.  I’m thankful that it’s a local college because she’ll be living at home for a while.  I will treasure the last few years I have with her because, above all,  I know how quickly time goes…

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

One comment on “She’s Growing Up….

Leave a Reply

