Let There Be Thanks…

Tomorrow marks the beginning of the holiday season for me.  As much as I love Christmas movies and music, I usually can’t bring myself to get it all going until after our Thanksgiving meal.  I say this as I have Christmas music playing in the background, and already have watched about 20 or so Christmas movies this year!  I couldn’t help myself.  How could I be at home, knowing that Christmas movies were on TV and not watch them?!?  Sometimes too much is asked of me, my friends!    Anyway….

I am excited that tomorrow I will be able to start celebrating in earnest.  This is my favorite time of the year, and I have lists and lists of things I want to do or make, but know I will never accomplish everything!  I’m ok with that.  If I don’t get everything done or made, there’s always next year! 

Before I start with the Christmas celebrating, I wanted to take the time to just be thankful!  Although it’s been a rough couple of years for me and my family, we do have SO much to be thankful for!  My “rough” is so little compared to others around the world that are starving to death or being persecuted or living in places where rockets are launched 24/7!   No, my friends….I don’t have it really all that rough!   I do, however, want to share my list of things I’m thankful for right now.  Some may seem odd or quirky or just plain stupid in some eyes, but I’m thankful for them nonetheless.   So, as Thanksgiving is upon us, here are the things I’m thankful for (these are in no particular order, just typing as the thoughts come!):

First and foremost, I am thankful for my Savior, Jesus Christ,
without whom I would have nothing or be anything! 
He gave His life for a little girl born in Denver, CO so very long ago,
and has walked me through every joy, struggle, tear and victory.

If I have nothing else to be thankful for, this is it!

My children.  My sweet, darling, loud, obnoxious and crazy daughters! 
Everything I do is for them. 
They are the loves of my life and I am so blessed to have them.
They make me laugh, cry, yell and breathe.
They are my life.

My Parents.
They taught me about a Savior that loved me and gave Himself for me.
They raised me to love the Lord, be strong, self-sufficient, and speak my mind (sometimes to their peril!).
They have helped me more than any other people in this life, and sometimes they may not feel they are appreciated, but they are…
More than they will ever know.

My Family.
Grandparents, Great grandparents, brothers, sister, aunts, uncles, cousins and so forth.
We are loud, a little dysfunctional and passionate about things we believe in.
We can fight with the best of them, but we can also love with the best of them.

My job. 
I love working for a place that is making a difference in this fallen world.
I love knowing that every day when I go to work, I am surrounded by people that care about me and others.

My job.
I love being able to capture memories for people of this time in their lives.
I love watching a mom cry when she sees the images I took of their child on the brink of their adult life.
I am thankful that God gave me this talent.

My job.
I am thankful for my job helping people plan their Disney vacations.
I love hearing the excitement in their voices as we plan what they are going to do every day.
I’m thankful that I’m part of this magical time.

I am thankful for a beautiful home.
A home that keeps us safe, and warm, and contains all of my most prized and loved treasures.
I’m thankful that God has provided the money to make the mortgage payment every month!
However, I’m not thankful for the mice that decided they wanted to live in my beautiful home!

I’m thankful for computers, telephones, indoor plumbing and heaters!

I’m thankful for television, radio and internet.

I’m thankful for Chipotle, Jimmy John’s, and Olive Garden

I’m thankful for chocolate.

I’m thankful for rainy days and Mondays because it means I’m alive!

I’m thankful for sight, hearing and the ability to speak.

I’m thankful that I was able to cast a vote for who I wanted as President of the US. (Even if he did lose!)

I’m thankful that I was born in a country that has religious freedoms (at least for now!)

I’m thankful for the US Military, past and present.
I’m thankful for those that gave their very lives so that I could be free. 

I’m thankful for those that are out there now, fighting and defending our freedom.
I’m thankful for their families that sacrifice every day for us.

I’m thankful for those that journeyed across a vast ocean, in search of a place of freedom.
In search of a place where they could worship God in any way they chose.

I’m thankful that I can attend a church of my choosing.

I’m thankful for the church I attend, that speaks truth and life into my heart.

I’m thankful for Christmas movies, as cheesy as they are!

I’m thankful for my friends.  They are the BEST!

I’m thankful for Facebook! 
It has made it possible for me to reconnect with so many friends from my past.
Friends I had lost track of or friends that have moved away.
In the words of Martha Stewart, “It’s a good thing”

I’m thankful for you, my blog followers, as few as you are.  I hope I add a little enjoyment to your life!

There are so many other things to be thankful, but I fear I’d be here all day listing them!  I hope you all take some time to at least think about how much we have to be thankful for.  

I wish you all a very blessed Thanksgiving day!
 
“And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.”
Colossians 3:15
2 comments on “Let There Be Thanks…

Leave a Reply

