It’s Christmastime!

Holy Bat-Trees–It’s Christmas!!  Where did this month go?   Does anyone else feel like the days are flying past like an F-16 jet?!  I had all these wonderful ideas for Christmas posts, and here it is December 19th!   And since the world could be ending on Friday, I figured I better get one last post in!  Lol….

Are you ready for the Big Day?  (Christmas, I mean, not the End of the World.)  What things do you still have left to do?  Are you trying new things this year?    Have you taken the time to go look at the lights?  Have you baked all your holiday goodies?  Have you watched some Christmas movies?  (I am on Christmas movie overload!!  It’s a grand overload, though!)  Are you ready for Santa to come sliding down the chimney?  While I have done most of the above, I can honestly say I’m not quite ready…..could I have an extra couple of weeks,please??!??

A friend of mine just posted on Facebook that next year, she is going to start shopping and planning for Christmas in the Summer.  This past week, I started thinking that very same thought.  Why couldn’t I start shopping in July?  Why can’t I make cookie dough and freeze it in October?  Why can’t I make some pretty Christmas decorations during the month of September?  Then it hit me—-I HATE when the stores start selling Christmas decorations in July.  I HATE when stores start playing Christmas music in September.  I HATE when Christmas movies start showing on TV at the first of November.  I don’t think I could start early!  (Besides, all the good sales start in November, on Black Friday -that’s when I got most of my Christmas shopping done this year).  Is it possible for me to get over my bad self and start preparing early???  Is it possible for me to get over my angst about waiting until the drive home from Thanksgiving dinner to start my celebration?!?

What’s so bad about making some cookie dough a few months early to have ready on those nights when I get home from work and I’m just too tired to do another thing?  Or what’s so wrong with picking up a few gifts here and there?  Could I really do it?!    When you get right down to it, it isn’t about the cookies, or the cards, or the gifts….it’s about a tiny babe born so many years ago.  THAT’S what we’re supposed to be celebrating!  Couldn’t we celebrate Him more than 6 weeks out of the year?  I think 2013 will be year of new things for me!  I’m going to make a list of things that need to be done in preparation for Christmas next year, and I’m going to figure out a way to complete some of them before the day after Thanksgiving.  Then, I won’t be so stressed, and I can just celebrate JESUS!  How about you?  Are you in?!?

Or maybe the world will end on Friday, and we won’t have to worry about it!!

Leave a comment