Farewell to 2012

It’s December 31st.  The last day of the year.  My most dreaded day of the year, except for perhaps my upcoming birthday! 

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s Eve.  I’ve never enjoyed realizing that another year of my life is over and done with, never to be lived again.  Even though I know every day is another day lost, December 31st carries with it such finality.  I will have many more Mondays, or Thursday or Sundays.  I will also have many more Januarys, Aprils  and Decembers.  What I won’t ever have again is a 2012. 

As I look back over 2012, it was a good year for me and my daughters.  We celebrated many milestones in the life of my middle daughter this year.  She got her drivers license, graduated from high school, got her braces off after wearing them for 5 years (!) and she started college!   

We also got to go to Disney World for a week and spent a week in Coronado/San Diego, California.  For people who very rarely go on vacation, it was a wonderful year!

It was also a year of many miracles for us.  Since my ex lost his job over a year and a half ago, I have had to carry the financial burden of raising kids on my own, but I really wasn’t on my own…..God had my back!  Every month, when it was time to pay bills, the money was just there.  I don’t know how, I don’t know where it always came from, but it was THERE!  I do know why, though.  Because God’s Word promises that He will supply all my needs.  God’s Word says that He will take care of me, and He did.  What a wonderful witness for my children to see that God keeps His word even in a world where so many don’t.

It was also a year of many disappointments.  Disappointments in the direction my country is going.  Disappointment that so many people have been deceived and now we will all pay the price.  Disappointment that we can no longer believe anything the press tells us.  Disappointed that our freedoms and liberties are systematically being taken away while so many sit back and watch it happen.  I fear for the future of our great country.  I at least have faith in God, and I know that no matter what happens, God has my back.

I just read my blog post from last new year’s eve, and I shared that I didn’t know what 2012 would hold, but I knew it would hold some scary stuff.  I also wrote that there would be nothing I would go through that God wouldn’t be there for me.  It was so true!  I never experienced the scary stuff I was thinking would happen, and the things I went through, God was there with me every step of the way, just as I predicted.   That shows you that our fears are so unfounded, but God is always faithful!

Just like last year, I do not know what the year 2013 will hold for me.  The only thing I DO know is that God will be with me, and no matter what happens, He will have my back!   I still hate this time of year, but tomorrow is a new day and 2013 is another year.   I believe that 2013 will be a great year for me.  I believe that my businesses will flourish.  I believe that my children will continue to grow in the Lord, and their lives will be happy.  I believe that 2013 will be a good year for us, and I hope it’s a good year for you and yours as well!

 

Happy New Year!

 

Leave a Reply

