My New Year’s List…

Now that New Year’s Eve is over and done with, it’s time to start planning for the new year.   I don’t ever make “resolutions” because I inevitably fail when I do.  The word “resolution” means a formal expression of opinion or intention made.  I can’t deal with that kind of pressure…lol.  What I do like to do is make a list of things I’m going to try to accomplish.  Maybe that’s kinda wimpy, but, hey, it’s what works best for me. 

Last night, before I went to bed I wrote a Facebook post and one of the people on my Friends list decided to nit-pick me on it.  Then, this morning…another nit-pick on it from the same person.  My post wasn’t a big deal.  It wasn’t anything earth shattering and it definitely wasn’t a life-changer…just a simple observation about my life.  Then this 20-something girl goes on to tell me that I had a problem when people disagree with me….seriously?!?!  Here she had gone on for 4 separate comments, disagreeing with me!   Who does like having people disagree with them?  I don’t know too many people that do, including this girl.   I’ve never removed someone from my friend’s list because they disagreed with me.  Even through the election cycle last year, I never removed a single soul.  Not the people who kept putting up Vote for Obama posts and not the people that disagreed with me about gay marriage, gun control or God.  But for some reason, this post was a defining moment for me.   This made me decide what would be the first thing on my list to do this year—remove people from my “Friends” list that weren’t life-giving for me.  So, first thing this morning, I did just that!  I cleaned out my Friends list.

If you know me, you know that I love a good challenge.  I love a good spar now and again.  What I don’t like is when those spars or challenges become heated.   I love a good political debate, but it usually spins rapidly out of control if you are debating with someone on the other side.  I don’t like that.  I like to be able to speak with someone without it getting heated and out of control.  And no, I don’t like when people disagree with me, but it’s not because I am selfish per se, it’s just because I believe so strongly in what I believe.  I have friends that I can have a debate with and keep it under control.  We might not agree on anything, but I know we can have a civil discussion about it and not have it turn into a big thing

This leads me to the second thing on my list:  Become a life-giving person.

I want to be a life-giving person.  I want my words and my actions to reflect God’s love.  I want to be a person that helps others, not tear them down. I want my words to be a healing salve to someone that is down-trodden, broken-hearted or in despair.  I want the things I write down to be inspiring and challenging, but not in a negative way.  I want people to see Jesus in me. 

Will I fail at it at times?  Yep.  Will I always be able to hold my tongue?  Nope.  I can at least try, though, can’t I?   At least it will be on my list to work on.  

Yes, there will be other things on my list: 

Read through my Bible again this year

Get my home better organized

Go through boxes in my unfinished basement and get rid of some junk!

Learn some new things with my photography

Learn some new computer programs

Make some new recipes

Work hard on making my Disney business a success

Lose some more weight

Spend more time with daughters

And the list goes on and on…It may take me all year long to accomplish my goals.  And I might not even accomplish everything!   I will try and I will succeed in some, and fail in others.  But for now, I can feel a sense of accomplishment and like a burden has been lifted because I can cross the first thing off my list….

How about you?  What are your resolutions or goals for 2013?

 

Leave a Reply

